Queen’s Birthday Honours to ‘diverse range of Territorians’

p2151-Gary-Nairn-1Chief Minister Adam Giles  congratulated the recipients of Queen’s Birthday Honours for 2015 “for their service to Territorians in all walks of life, recognising their achievements and service”.


Mr Giles said: “I’m particularly pleased to see that the honours recipients come from right across the NT, demonstrating that outstanding service to others is occurring throughout our community.


“I am especially pleased to see the work of Gary Nairn (at left) acknowledged.


“He has an extremely strong commitment to the Territory where, as a surveyor, he participated in the of the Territory busiest construction booms during the 1990s,” Mr Giles says.


“Gary now brings considerable land management skills to our Planning Commission. The Territory is very fortunate to be able to have Gary’s skills.


“The fact that Territorians are being recognised for their commitment to water safety programs, in the case of Raymond Menhinnitt, to the management of one of our most iconic national parks, in the case of Scott Suridge, demonstrates just how unique our community is.


“We have some of the greatest natural assets but we also have our great human assets as well  – Territorians.


“I salute the Territorians that received recognition through the Queen’s Birthday Honours but also those in our community who are pursuing their passions and causes every day and making people’s lives better as a result.


“To all those people who spend their lives making our communities richer and better and better, I say thank you,” Mr Giles says.



Appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in the General Division

The Honourable Gary Nairn AO

For distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, to the communities of NSW and the NT, to the surveying and spatial sciences and to disability support groups.


Awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross Royal Australian Air Force

Air Vice-Marshal Kenneth Watson CSC

For outstanding devotion to duty as Commander Northern Command.


Appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in the General Division

Mrs Judith Boland AM

p2245-Elliot-McAdam-1For significant service to secondary education in the NT, as a supporter of historical and heritage organisations and to the community.

Mr Elliot McAdam AM (at right)

For significant service to the community of Barkly and to the Legislative Assembly of the NT


Awarded the Public Service Medal, Northern Territory Public Service

Mr Scott Suridge PSM

For outstanding public service in the management of Australia’s national parks


Awarded the Australian Police Medal

Senior Sergeant Donald Eaton APM

For distinguished police service


Awarded the Australian Fire Service Medal

Mr Matthew Brookhouse

For distinguished contribution to the fire service in the NT

Mr Robert Cowan

For distinguished contribution to the fire service in the NT


Awarded the Emergency Services Medal

Mr Philip Merry PSM

For distinguished contribution to emergency services in the NT


Awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in the General Division

Mr Raymond Menhinnitt OAM

For service to the community, particularly through swimming and water safety programs

Mrs Olga Radke OAM

For service to the community of Alice Springs

Mrs Lesley Reilly OAM

For service to the community through health care advocacy and support roles


Awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross Australian Army

Sergeant Bianca Mainella CSM

For meritorious achievement as the inaugural Sergeant Supervisor of the Customer Service Support Team of the Army Personnel Administration Centre – Northern Territory/Kimberly

Warrant Officer Class One Aaron Writer CSC

For meritorious achievement as Assistant Maintenance Manager of Joint Logistics Unit (North) in providing logistic support to Operations and Units in the Northern Region of Australia



Be Sociable, Share!

A new way to support our journalism

We do not have a paywall. If you support our independent journalism you can make a financial contribution by clicking the red button below. This will help us cover expenses and sustain the news service we’ve been providing since 1994, in a locally owned and operated medium.

Erwin Chlanda, Editor

6 Comments (starting with the most recent)

NB: If you want to reply to a previous comment, start your comment with this notation: @n where n is the number of the comment you want to reply to.
  1. Mike Gillam
    Posted July 11, 2015 at 6:43 pm

    Thanks to Peter Hoey for highlighting the case for overdue recognition of Elliott McAdam.

    View Comment
  2. Phil Walcott
    Posted June 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

    Lovely effort, Leslie Reilly … so richly deserved. And Elliot McAdam … some remarkable achievements.

    View Comment
  3. Peter Suridge
    Posted June 10, 2015 at 9:22 am

    Well done Scott. A well deserved award.

    View Comment
  4. Ted Egan
    Posted June 10, 2015 at 7:38 am

    Congratulations to all recipients. The Territory is enhanced by you. A special tribute to Elliott McAdam – a worthy recognition of yourself and your fine family.

    View Comment
  5. Helen Suridge
    Posted June 9, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    Congratulations Scott Suridge. Very proud of you. Helen.

    View Comment
  6. Peter Hoey
    Posted June 9, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    I know Lesley Reilly and know the terrific work she has done for breast cancer suffers through Bosom Buddies support group. Thoroughly deserved Lesley.
    I also had dealings with Elliott McAdam in another life with the NT Ombudsman. He is a rarity: a person who entered politics and displayed integrity. Well done Elliott.

    View Comment

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *